I just got the call earlier this afternoon. After I thought I dispatched
with him, I still have the feeling I'll end up receiving this product and
having to go through the whole darn process.
thanks
terry psarras
manager of library services and intranet development
carlton fields p.a.
777 south harbour island blvd, tampa, fl 33602
tpsarras@carltonfields.com www.carltonfields.com
813.229.4114 813.229.4133 fax
"opinions expressed are mine and not my firm's etc..."
-----Original Message-----
From: Nancy Brown [mailto:NBrown@wendel.com]
Sent: Thursday, September 13, 2001 3:58 PM
To: 'Bell, Laurel J.'; 'Carol J. Crego'; law-lib@ucdavis.edu
Subject: RE: "American Corporate Directory"
Our firm in Oakland was hit up by these people. They took up quite a bit of
the time of one of our administrators with numerous calls where they would
insist that someone here had signed up with them, althought they could not
give us a name, and could we please respond to their invoice of some $900,
on and on. Our poor person here, she just kept saying No No No No to
everything and they finally went away.
Nancy Brown
Wendel, Rosen, Black & Dean, LLP
Oakland, CA
-----Original Message-----
From: Bell, Laurel J. [mailto:laurelbell@parkerpoe.com]
Sent: Thursday, September 13, 2001 12:47 PM
To: 'Carol J. Crego'; law-lib@ucdavis.edu
Subject: RE: "American Corporate Directory"
Carol,
Several people in our area have been contacted by a similar business hawking
a CD. They use the name
"American Business Index". In fact, a couple people have actually received
the CD. We were going to see if anyone outside of our area had been
contacted by this organization. The tactics they are using sound very
similar to what you are describing. Perhaps CRIV should be notified about
both of these companies.
Laurel Bell
Research Librarian
Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein
Three First Union Center
401 South Tryon Street, Suite 3000
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202
Phone - (704) 335-9527
Fax - (704) 335-9771
-----Original Message-----
From: Carol J. Crego [ HYPERLINK
"mailto:CJCrego@rkmc.com"mailto:CJCrego@rkmc.com]
Sent: Thursday, September 13, 2001 2:19 PM
To: law-lib@ucdavis.edu
Subject: "American Corporate Directory"
>>>> Please read the confidentiality statement below <<<<
Have any of you done business with the company that publishes this title?
Apparently it is a "Businesss-to-Business" yellow and white pages. The
reason
I ask is that they keep trying to contact us telling us that we signed up
for a listing with them and that they want to send it along with the
invoice. I've contacted our marketing dept. and they've been hasseled by
them several times and state that they've not subscribed to their service.
They call with a name of
a different firm employee each time they call. I think it's a big scam, but
would like to hear if any of you have ever subscribed.
Thanks for your input!
Carol J. Crego - Law Library Manager
Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi L.L.P.
Mpls. Mn. 55402-2015
612-349-0940
______________________________________
Information contained in this e-mail
transmission is privileged and
confidential. If you are not the
intended recipient, do not read,
distribute, or reproduce this
transmission. If you have received
this e-mail transmission in error,
please call 612-349-8799.
Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P.
HYPERLINK "http://www.rkmc.com" \nhttp://www.rkmc.com
______________________________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------
This email may contain confidential and privileged material
for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any review or
distribution by others is strictly prohibited. If you are not
the intended recipient please contact the sender and delete
all copies.
This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Wed Nov 14 2007 - 20:36:19 PST